

news

Colorado Judicial Department Brian D. Boatright, Chief Justice Steven Vasconcellos, State Court Administrator

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE June 2, 2021

Contact: Robert McCallum or Jon Sarché 720-625-5815 720-625-5811 <u>robert.mccallum@judicial.state.co.us</u> jon.sarche@judicial.state.co.us

Applicants for Baca County Court judgeship announced Commission to select nominees by June 7

The 15th Judicial District Nominating Commission on Wednesday announced that four people have applied for nomination to the office of Baca County judge.

The application deadline was 4 p.m. June 1, 2021. The rules of procedure for the 15th Judicial District Nominating Commission require that the names of all applicants be made public when the application period is closed. Applicants are Jeremy Boyce of Greeley, Peter Dawson of Walsh, Anthony LeBlanc of Campo and Lyudmyla Lishchuk of Lakewood.

The Fifteenth Judicial District Nominating Commission will meet via videoconference on June 7, 2021, to interview and select nominees for appointment by the governor to the office of county judge for Baca County. The judgeship was created by the retirement of the Hon. Debra Gunkel. The vacancy occurred on May 15, 2021.

To be eligible for appointment to fill the vacancy, the applicant must be a qualified elector of Baca County and have graduated high school or attained the equivalent of a high school education as indicated by the Department of Education, based upon the record made on the General Education Development test. The annual salary for this position is \$33,159, and it is a 20 percent position. The initial term of office of a county judge is a provisional term of two years; thereafter, the incumbent county judge, if approved by the voters, has a term of four years.

Public comment on the qualifications of the applicants is invited. Comments should be

directed to any member of the nominating commission, with a copy to the ex officio chair,

Justice William W. Hood III, 2 E. 14th Ave., Denver, CO 80203, or

judicial.vacancies@judicial.state.co.us.

The members of the nominating commission for the 15th Judicial District are: Garth

Nieschburg, Randa Davis-Tice, and Annessa Stagner, all of Lamar; Douglas Tallman of

Brandon; Timothy Hume of Walsh; Margaret Jolly of Kit Carson; and Karen Wilde of Eads.

Editor's Note: Contact information for the nominating commission members

- Garth Nieschburg, PO Box 654, Lamar, CO 81052
- Randa Davis-Tice, <u>davisticelaw@centurytel.net</u>
- Douglas Tallman, douglas1028@gmail.com
- Timothy Hume, <u>tim@north-fork-farms.com</u>
- Margaret Jolly, 16921 County Rd. DD, Kit Carson, CO 80825
- Annessa Stagner, <u>annessa.stulp@gmail.com</u>
- Karen Wilde, <u>kwilde4@gmail.com</u>